A while ago I had an amazing experience making sushi and now I am finally writing about it.  We had a work thing for the end of the Summer at Fortinos in Etobicoke where we got to make sushi and roll it from scratch.

Now normally cooking is not my expertise but sushi is raw, so I thought that I would stand a better chance.  So off we went to the President’s Choice Cooking School to roll some wonderful sushi.

The Cooking School at Fortinos brings in celebrity chefs that teach you their specialty in the kitchen.  And the second we walked into the kitchen we were in business equipped with mounds of raw fish.  We also had a wonderful selection of raw fish to pick from like shrimp, crab, and salmon.

Our chef showed us how to cut the sushi to get the most of the meat.  We also learned how to properly make the sticky rice and how to lay out all of the ingredients to make the perfect role.

I was able to make shrimp sushi, a California roll, and spicy salmon.  Unfortunately I found out that I was no better at rolling sushi than cooking in the kitchen.  But all in all we had a wonderful time.

I ♥ TO

About cole7

Currently taking my bachelor in public relations at Humber College. Spent a few years in the musical theatre industry where I traveled the world, after graduating from St. Lawrence College. Love the city of TO and spend my spare time blogging about experiences and cool things offered in this amazing metropolis.Check me out at about.me/coledouglas

Leave a comment